(207) 442-7938   873 U.S. Route One, Woolwich, ME 04579   M-F 9am-4:30pm SA 9am-3pm

Barn Club: A Tale of Forgotten Elm Trees, Traditional Craft and Community Spirit

  • Sale
  • Regular price $34.00
Shipping calculated at checkout.


“In today’s ego-techno-centred world, Robert Somerville’s . . . Barn Club approach is a way forward that utilizes local traditions, local materials, and local hands to create a built environment that is more harmonious with the natural world and of course more beautiful.”—Jack A. Sobon, architect, timber framer, and author of Hand Hewn

“Somerville knows more about wooden barn construction than almost anyone alive.”—The Telegraph

Natural history meets traditional hand craft in this celebration of the elm tree and community spirit.

When renowned craftsman Robert Somerville moved to Hertfordshire in southern England, he discovered an unexpected landscape rich with wildlife and elm trees. Nestled within London’s commuter belt, this wooded farmland inspired Somerville, a lifelong woodworker, to revive the ancient tradition of hand-raising barns.

Barn Club follows the building of Carley Barn over the course of one year. Volunteers from all walks of life joined Barn Club, inspired to learn this ancient skill of building elm barns by hand, at its own quiet pace and in the company of others, while using timber from the local woods.

The tale of the elm tree in its landscape is central to Barn Club. Its natural history, historic importance, and remarkable survival make for a fascinating story.

This is a tale of forgotten trees, a local landscape, and an ancient craft.

This book includes sixteen pages of color photographs, and black and white line drawings of techniques and traditional timber frame barns feature throughout.

Perfect for fans of Norwegian Wood and The Hidden Life of Trees.


Our Promise To You.

If it is for sale in our store -- it is because we use it and love it!

We are happy to share our experiences with these tools which may enhance your own. Given care, maintenance, and love, each of these fine tools is capable of lasting a lifetime. We do limit warranties to those offered by our supplying manufacturers. If ever you have a question or concern regarding any of the tools we sell, please let us know.

Online. On Campus. On The Job Site.

These tools, toys and supplies are in constant use by our students, timber framing crews, and family. At Shelter Tools, we have a working knowledge of every product we sell. Graduates will find particular items recommended in class and on site.


If you don't see the tools or items you need, we can find it for you. Write us or call us anytime.